GP200 Wings: Completion

After I got the wing shape on both pieces of foam, I cut a small sliver of foam off one of the foam half wings. I did this so when I joined them together with hot glue an tape, it had positive dihedral, which is when the wings are slightly bent up to increase stability.

This works because when a wing is tilted, the lifting force is broken down into x and y properties (lift sideways and lift upwards). When the plane banks, The wing that is descending is creating more upwards lift and creating less sideways lift, and the other wing is doing the opposite. Because there is more lift on the descending wing, it will rise, making the plane stable.

I glued 4 of the ribs onto the wing to increase rigidity and strength. I am also going to attach the wing using rubber bands and string. The string will be attached to the base of the fuselage to prevent the wing from folding.

This wing is promising, as it is creating a lot of lift!

Sorry I could not get a picture. I will post an overview with a picture of the plane at the end. But it is brown, and the wingspan is about 58 inches. Almost 5 feet.

Leave a comment